Gender Orientation, Identity and Expression | Ehipassiko

Gender Orientation, Identity and Expression | Ehipassiko.

To be clear: The issue for the MTF transsexual isn’t that we are a culturally constructed woman trapped in the physical body of a man; rather, a MTF transsexual’s subjective experience of their physical sex is female. When I assert that my subjective experience of my body has been always female, I mean exactly that. I only acquired a pervasive horror about my body shape when I learned around the age of 5 that my body shape was different from other girls.  That particular horror is called dysphoria… as in, Gender Dysphoria. My issue wasn’t that I wanted to necessarily wear certain clothes or act a certain way; of course I wanted to be treated and identified as any other little girl in my culture, but my dysphoria wasn’t primarily situated around this secondary issue. I went to bed praying to have a god fix my body or allow me to die in my sleep not because my gender identity and expression wasn’t feminine; I began praying to die around the age of 5 because my body betrayed me.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolina Courtland
    Jul 24, 2012 @ 18:55:56

    You know, I’ve never really talked in depth to a trans individual. I would like to, before and after hormones, to see if I can “see” their thinking is female/male (whichever they believe themselves to be.) One thing I found fascinating about Chaz Bono is he said that after the hormones he found women’s chatter to be “irritating” just like a normal man would. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Wicked Wonderland Empire

Life and times of a Buddhist trans woman.

Dizzy yet?

I know I am...

maggiemaeijustsaythis

through the darkness there is light

Cisnormativity

It's like The Matrix — only without body harvesting and bullet time. Its ubiquity makes it almost invisible. Almost. We can see it, and we will explain what it looks like.

The Pink Agendist

by E.B. de Mas, reachable at: pink.agendist@yahoo.com

Staked in the Heart

Not A Safe Space

